Rain

Waking up to the sound of pouring rain may sound like every romantics idea of a great morning, but when your region is on the verge of being declared a drought disaster area, it really is a glorious sound to hear.

It rained for seven hours straight, and not just drizzle either, drenching, sopping rain.

It was a magical thing.

Not so magical, however, was my night of sleeplessness.  Having a new born baby; first, second or third; is no walk in the park, and the level of sleep deprivation that you live life at is astonishing.  How do we cope? How do we manage to function, especially with another kid in the house, on three hours of sleep? Well I’ll be darned if I know!  All I know is that you can’t give up, you can’t give in to the grump and must just sleep when you can.  It evens out eventually, I think, but for now it’s a case of roll with the punches.

I must admit it makes me giggle when I scroll through social media and see articles about “how to sleep better” or “the optimal amount of sleep”, as a mom, I laugh, clearly these marvelous people don’t have kids, in any number, because the advice they give wouldn’t work if you have small kids or a baby.  So I have a laugh and then a little cry and check the clock, yup 3am, been awake now since 11pm, smile and wave and feed the baby again.
Image: Asherlove Photography by Kim van Vuuren

2 thoughts on “Rain

Leave a Reply

