Life has it’s moments.

Much like raising children, life has it’s beautiful moments, scattered in between the responsibilities and curve balls there are beautiful moments in life that I hope I am savouring properly.

I don’t want to be so caught up in the hustle and toil of life that I miss potentially beautiful, soul changing moments. I think the trick is to not get too swept up in the emotions of the struggles and to try and see them as learning opportunities, or opportunities to gain a new perspective.  Just yesterday I was saying to hubby that even though life feels totally out of control for us (new baby, business shifts, financial strains), I’ve never experienced things like this before and come out short in character or strength.

The tests of life come, and God uses them to stretch us, grow us, teach us new things.  Just this morning I read a devotional that said:

  • “I’m learning that we must not resist the blessing of brokenness that tills the ground of our heart. Breaking up the unplowed ground of our heart will make it ready for new life, new growth, new maturity in us that can’t be found any other way.” Lysa Terkeurst

The blessing of brokeness that tills the ground of our heart.

My heart is encouraged because I know that on the other side of this set of trials lies new ground, a new crop, a new harvest and a stronger me,  and all because I trust God to bring me through to that place, changed, with an open, willing heart to learn along the way.  Not always easy, but essential.
Image: Asherlove Photography by Kim van Vuuren

Leave a Reply

