A night out and a glass of wine.

It’s amazing what an evening out can do.  Especially when you realise the last time you went out with your husband, alone, was over a year ago!  It’s been a busy few weeks and the blog has been neglected a little, but there is now lots to say, sitting across from my handsome enjoying some lovely red wine and good food we got to talk, laugh and generally be “us” again.  He’s inspired me with some blog post ideas and I think we only managed to talk about the kids once the entire evening.

We were at The Mills Academy chef students exam night in Jeffreys Bay.  This is the first time these students are serving guests a seven course meal after studying for almost two years, it was a treat.  From canapes to soup, fresh baked ciabatta and lamb shank, beautiful choux pastry and macaron topped genoise sponge, it was a taste sensation.  Congratulations to the two students who cooked for us, can’t wait to see what you produce at your final exam next month!

There was a great deal of speculation as to wether the nanny had managed to put the kids to sleep or not and what kind of carnage would be waiting for us as home.  We come home and they are ALL asleep.  I know I say all as if I have seven kids, but it feels like that sometimes.  Our two precious nuggets were asleep, a miracle, it will snow, I was speechless.  So not only did mom and dad get to dress up, go out, eat beautiful food, have a peaceful glass of wine and adult conversation, but we also got the added bonus of not having to do bedtime – endless patience, yoyos, stories, negotiating etc.

I feel good, even at 05:00 in the morning, I feel rested.  Like the break fairy just cut me some slack.

Finally. 

God bless my nanny, she’s amazing!

Leave a Reply

