Food, photos and passing it on.

I’ve had a love of beautiful images from when I was a kid, sitting in my dad’s design agency in the 80’s and 90’s browsing Tony Stone stock image catalogues. So it’s no wonder as a food photographer I am obsessed with the perfect image, capturing yummy food at it’s best with gorgeous light and balanced styling.  

My other “boat floater” is teaching, so as I’ve aged a little, I have realised that to keep my years of photography experience and technical knowledge to myself wouldn’t be helping me or anyone else and then the whole “passing it on” idea would die a slow sad death.

So I decided to pass it on.

I now host workshops for the general public, not just chef students needing to learn the ins and outs of that side of their industry.  It’s for the average person who loves a great image, food and coffee and wants to translate that into something visually appealing.  Not only doI get to help some avid photographers I get to give out of my wealth of experience and help others improve their images.  Hey, I’m by no means the best of the best, but I have almost ten years experience in various photography genre’s, and I am passionate about food, well photographed food and helping people take awesome shots of their food.  My pet peeves include horrible photos used in marketing and advertising as well as amateur design.  So my philosophy is, don’t get mad at what’s out there, help make it better, make yourself available, teach, assist and help others improve their game so we can all enjoy lovely images like the one’s in the Tony Stone catalogues.

Leave a Reply

