Age and the season of weird.

Being a mom is challenging, as I’m sure every mother under the sun will agree.  Being an older mom is even more challenging, and not for the reason you think. I’m a good ten years older than my mommy counterparts, and yes, I’m not as energetic or physically capable but that’s not the hard part.  The hard part is being alone.  

When all your peers (in age) have older kids that are in primary or even high school, and you have a toddler and a new born, the timing is never good.  Bedtime is smack in the middle of what would be your average “go out and have fun” time.  Your sleep is precious and so once the kids are asleep your ability to add another thing to the evening is near impossible.  It’s especially hard if you’re a working mom, cause now every spare minute is spent preparing for the next day and trying to get as much time in with your kids means that weekend family time is precious and crucial to everyone’s survival.

So what do I do now? How do I navigate this season of seemingly “forced” isolation?  So far not much, with the baby up at 5am and the toddler in his cranky “threenager” stage I will admit that I haven’t had three minutes to asess my life and it’s empty friend corner till a few weeks ago.  So the answer is coming slowly, as with most revelations these days.  When I find a spare ten minutes, and have the energy to ponder life, some things are very clear.  

Don’t stay isolated.  

Keep connected somehow.  So mommy group every week is crucial. Needed.  Essential.  

As far as the rest goes, like going to church or get-togethers, they will have to fit in when they fit in.  I apologise to my friends who don’t get to see me, my season is extreme and completely overwhelming, but I’m learning how to navigate through it, and I’m sure I’ll come out the other side sooner or later.

4 thoughts on “Age and the season of weird.

  1. Samantha Winchester says:

    I was the opposite, I had my children young and all of my friends were out doing the partying, being young and carefree thing. Now that I am “older” 😮 my friends are in the middle of their elementary and high school years with their children. It’s tough to keep those connections, but so important to our sanity!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Martha Hutchinson says:

    Well done for talking about it Kim….it’s super tough being a Mom. In my mommy years pure survival was my main focus…..mostly. Getting some adult time was a life line always. And just doing what I love too -occasionally. True friends will always stick with you no matter what…..they’ll be there when you surface again 🌈

    Liked by 1 person

  3. blaaklistwriters says:

    My friend, I’m so sorry for the loneliness. You’re right, it’s especially pronounced when you’re also a working mom. But can I say this… YOU ARE DOING SO WELL! There are so many women around you who admire you and look up to you. This is a good reminder to ALL of us to ‘speak up’ and ‘reach out.’
    ❤️ I, for one, am proud of you! I value and admire you!
    • And this tough season will end… I promise. It will change and many things will get easier. There may be new challenges, but you will handle those like a champ too.
    • And there will be people who love and cherish you for the gem you are (even if they forget to say it out loud). I know that cuz I’m one of them!
    Love you, Kim! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

